Local Governing Committee

Governors are volunteers who are responsible for strategic leadership and accountability within a school.

Governing boards or committees have three core functions:

• To ensure clarity of vision, ethos and strategic direction for a school.
• To hold the executive leaders to account for the educational performance of the school, its pupils, and the performance management of staff.
• Oversee the financial performance of the school and make sure its money is well spent.

In practice, this means Governing boards or committees are responsible for:

• Setting policies and ensuring they are adhered to.
• Setting and monitoring the budget.
• Monitoring the progress that the school is making.
• Setting targets for school improvement.

Governing boards or committees are accountable to several "Stakeholders" for the way the school is managed, these include, parents, pupils, the local community and OFSTED. Governors are not involved in the operational running of the school.

Badger Hill Primary School Local Governing Committee members are:

Head Teacher - Mrs Vicky Whittingham

Chair of Governors - Mr John Sharpe

Parent Governor - Miss Kerrie Barrow

Community Governor - Miss Sue Clark

Parent Governor - Dr Terry Dillon

Community Governor - Mrs Hannah Gray

Staff Governor - Mrs Sarah Harland

Parent Governor - Dr Daniel Horsfall

Parent Governor - Mrs Sam Macey-Jones

Staff Governor - Mr Matt Oxley

In attendance
Barbara Kybett - Clerk (Governance advisor)
Sophie Theakston - DHT (New Earswick Primary School)

Governor Information

Register of Business Interests 2018/19
LGC Meeting Attendance 2017/18



Privacy Policy | Cookie Policy